Good-bye, debt!

Today, I paid off my student loan. That was the last of it, the debt that is (minus the mortgage).

About three? four? years ago we set out with a plan, somewhat Dave Ramsey style, to pay off debt. One of my wonderful “internet friends” got me started with a simple budget excel spreadsheet (THANK YOU LEEANNE!). Thinking back, I am having trouble even remembering what we started with, but, probably: two student loans, car payments, Nebraska Furniture Mart credit card, regular credit card, orthodontist, I honestly don’t remember what else. Nothing too extreme, and honestly probably less debt than what most people I know have. But still, payments, so many payments.

So we lived a cash-only lifestyle. If I bought something online, I had to take cash to the bank to balance out what I had spent. It worked. No joke. We skipped parties and dinners out, driving extra places and purchasing extra stuff. Seriously, it was tough, but now I am sitting here like HOLY CRAP, my student loan which had another 10 years left to pay is GONE! I am in shock. Total shock. Have you ever actually seen how much you spend? Take away your debit card and your eyes will be shocked when you use only cash. $100 is like nothing at the grocery store. For real.

I guess this post is just to say….it can be done. It truly can. I never thought it could. I am just like, whoa. No words. Our next cars or furniture will be purchased with cash. Money will be saved and deposited for retirement and Maci’s future. Wow. What a great way to start off the new year.

Cheers to 2015!

4 thoughts on “Good-bye, debt!

  1. That is amazing!!! I can only imagine what a relief it is to be debt free. We have our mortgage, 2 car payments, credit cards, school loans haven’t started but with Ruben getting his second masters I can only imagine how much those will be! If you don’t mind sending me that spreadsheet, that would be awesome :).

Leave a comment